ICF International Congregational Fellowship
ICF International Congregational Fellowship

Speakers and Programme

The Voyage Continues - Speakers:

Joseph Nockels

Joe is a PhD researcher in English Literature at the University of Edinburgh, focusing on how digital methods can be deployed in the reading of historic manuscripts. A trained archivist, his previous research has centred on heritage formation and the Pilgrims during their time in Leiden. The 2019 recipient of the Dewi Rowlands Bursary, from the UK based Unaffiliated Congregational Churches Charities (UCCC), he is currently funded by the Scottish Graduate School for Arts and Humanities (SGSAH).

 

 

Francis Bremer

Professor Emeritus of History at Millersville University, Millersville, Pennsylvania. He received his BA from Fordham College and his MA and PhD from Columbia University, while also studying at Union Theological Seminary. He has been a visiting scholar at New York University, Oxford University, the University of Cambridge and Trinity College Dublin. Dr. Bremer is one of the acknowledged experts on puritanism in the Atlantic world and has published numerous articles and seventeen books on the subject. His study of John Winthrop: America's Forgotten Founding Father (2003) was submitted for consideration for the Pulitzer Prize and won the John C. Pollock Award for Christian Biography. His recent works include Puritanism: A Very Short Introduction (2009); First Founders: American Puritans and Puritanism in the Atlantic World (2012) – a selection of the History Book Club; Building a New Jerusalem: John Davenport, a Puritan in Three Worlds (2012) – shortlisted for the New England Society in the City of New York Award for Non Fiction 2013 and the 2013 Award in Nonfiction of the Mountain & Plains Independent Booksellers Association; and Lay Empowerment and the Development of Puritanism (2015).

Charles Hambrick-Stowe

Retired Pastor, Seminary Dean and Professor, PHD Boston University. Charles Hambrick-Stowe is the retired pastor of the First Congregational Church UCC, Ridgefield, Connecticut. In his writings he brings together experience as a local church pastor and in seminary administration and teaching. Before returning to pastoral ministry he was academic dean and professor of Christian history at Northern Seminary in Lombard, Illinois, and director of the Doctor of Ministry program at Pittsburgh Theological Seminary. He served as pastor of two churches in Maryland and Pennsylvania over a 22-year period. Hambrick-Stowe is the author or editor of six books and numerous articles in the field of American religious history, including Charles G. Finney and the Spirit of American Evangelicalism, and The Practice of Piety: Puritan Devotional Disciplines in Seventeenth Century New England (Chapel Hill: Published for the Institute of Early American History and Culture by the University of North Carolina Press, 1982. Winner of the prestigious Jamestown Prize for Early American History, The Practice of Piety is a moving and vivid account of what it meant to be a Puritan. This account draws on diaries, spiritual biographies, and devotional manuals to explore the daily and weekly ritual and discipline. The devotional movement was at the heart of Puritanism, and the spiritual pilgrimage was the soul's progress from birth to death to rebirth and eternal glory. Puritan worship brought together college student and illiterate farmer, giving coherence to the community. 

Victoria Turner

Victoria is currently a PhD Candidate in World Christianity at the University of Edinburgh. Her thesis explores practical responses to changing theologies of mission through employing the case studies of the Iona Community and the Council for World Mission. Her PhD is funded by the Council for World Mission's Special Academic Accompaniment Programme. Victoria also serves as a Trustee for the Society for Ecumenical Studies and for Churches Together in England. She is a member of the United Reformed Church/Baptist Union of England and Wales' Interfaith Enabling Group and represents URC Youth at the General Assembly. Victoria is currently working with the World Communion of Reformed Churches to organise the Global Youth Summit and is in the WCRC discernment group. Finally, Victoria is currently editing a book with SCM Press which brings together the voices of young Christian activists.

The Voyage Continues

Programme:

Friday 23 July 2021

Welcome to Day One:

 

Virtual Coffee Hour and Familiarize yourself with Whova (optional)

12:00am - 1:00pm UTC -4 (Eastern Standard Time),

5:00pm - 6:00pm UTC +1 (London Time)

 

Welcome and Opening to Day One: The Pilgrim Story

1:00pm - 1:15pm UTC-4, 

6:00pm-6:15pm UTC+1 

 

The Leiden Experience presented by Joe Nockels

1:15 - 2:00pm UTC-4,

6:15pm-7:00pm UTC+1

 

Break

2:00 - 2:10pm UTC-4,

7:00-7:10pm UTC+1

 

The Model of Pilgrim Piety presented by Charles Hambrick Stowe

2:10 - 2:55pm UTC-4,

7:10 - 7:55pm UTC+1

 

Break

2:55 - 3:05pm UTC-4,

7:55 - 8:05pm UTC+1

 

The Pilgrims and the Puritan Social Gospel presented by Frances Bremer

3:05 - 3:50pm UTC-4,

8:05 - 8:50pm UTC+1

 

Break

3:50 - 4:00pm UTC-4,

8:50 - 9:00pm UTC+1

 

Moderated Q&A/Discussion

4:00 - 4:30pm UTC-4,

9:00 - 9:30pm UTC+1

 

Closing words and prayer

4:30 - 4:40pm UTC-4,

9:30-9:40pm UTC+1

 

Saturday 24 July 2021

Welcome to Day Two: 

 

Buisness Meeting

12:00pm UTC-4 (Eastern Standard Time)

5:00pm UTC+1 (London Time)

 

Our Pilgrim Stories

Hosted by the Revd Dr Richard Cleaves

 

Following the Congregational Way around the World. Richard Cleaves will be hosting contributions from Europe, Africa, Syria, Lebanon, South America and more. Dig back into the stories of mission from earlier days and learn about the messages in bottles that reached a country behind the Iron Curtain and Spirit-filled congregational freedom arising naturally in African Independent churches. As we share our Pilgrim Stories we will share in times of reflection, prayer and music from around the world.

Our Pilgrim Stories

1:00 – 4:00pm UTC-4

6:00pm-9:00pm UTC+1

 

Sunday 25 July 2021

Welcome to Day Three:

 

Our Stories continue and Worship Service

1:00 - 4:00pm UTC-4 (Eastern Standard Time)

6:00 - 9:00pm UTC+1 (London Time)

 

Welcome and opening prayer

1:00 - 1:10pm UTC-4

6:00 - 6:10pm UTC+1

 

Navigating ministry through the COVID pandemic

1:00 - 2:00pm UTC-4

6:00 - 7:00pm UTC+1

 

Break

2:00 - 2:05pm UTC-4

7:00 - 7:05pm UTC+1

 

Brief ICF Business meeting and Regional breakouts

2:05 - 2:25pm UTC-4

7:05 - 7:25pm UTC+1

 

Break

2:25 - 2:30pm UTC-4

7:25 - 7:30pm UTC+1

 

Worship with leadership from around the world

2:30 - 4:00pm UTC-4

7:30 - 9:00pm UTC+1

Print Print | Sitemap
©International Congregational Fellowship